Australia Class 2013, Week 1

Today was the first session of my Sacred Heart School/Computer Aid exploratory class for Eighth graders. The class is called “Australia: The Dreamtime and Boomerangs”. I am assisted by my coworker, Hector Vazquez.

We started with an overview presentation on what would be learned over the next seven weeks. we also covered the grounds rules for conduct and participation. The students appear to be very enthusiastic. Then I openeg my bag (actually a box) of tricks. I had brought quite a few various aboriginal pieces to show. I had clap sticks, 2 nulla nullas, a shield and a number of both kylies and boomerangs. I think it was fun to let them pass the items around, to hold and touch each item. It made the experience more personal for them. I was pleased that the students had many questions.

DSCF7877

Then I moved on to modern boomerangs. I had a bunch of boomerangs and realized I could have brought more. The students were very interested in the various shapes and were surprised that they all returned. Of particular interest were the bat boomerangs made by former Sacred Heart student Ian Guldner. Ian went on to high school and is now a college graduate. His boomerangs were made as part of class project in high school. He entered them in the USBA National contest and won. I had qute a few art boomerangs including some pieces by Alan Scott Craing which I recently obtained. I also showed boomerangs used for competition in fast catch, MTA, Long Distance and Aussie Round.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We had to move on so I began the presentation on Aboriginal art. We reviewed the symbols used and what they represented. Then we viewed a number of photographs of Aboriginal art and tried to figure out what was on them. From there we moved to a presentation on what the Dreaming or Dreamtime is and how it came to being. We ran out of time at this point so got the students back to the bus and went back to work. Our next few weeks will be fun because the students already have loads of questions which will be answered in future sessions.

BoomerangDave

By boomerangdave

Leave a Reply

