Let’s make sawdust!

Well I finally broke through the barrier to shaping boomerangs last evening. I have been cutting long distance shapes from G10 sheet and stockpiling them. I now have 44 and that’s probably more than I can handle this year. Here’s a photo of them.

  

Unless I started cutting our more boomerangs from plywood (my real plan) , I was going to need to start shaping some of this G10. I have a tendency to work for brief periods of time after work when the weather is nice. Getting home before 5pm and the temperatures in the 70’s certainly provided the opportunity. I grabbed a few blanks and started in. I managed to get 5 done, a couple each of full size and 90% size. This year I am trying a few different shapes in the reduced size to see how they perform. When I finished for the evening, the newly shaped boomerangs were tossed in my truck for the next testing session.

 

 That session came quickly. At lunch Thursday I just had to get out out the office for a bit. I headed to the field with the new boomerangs. Anyone need a recipe for disaster? Well, take some gray skies and add off white G10 long distance boomerangs. A friend did that, lost sight of a boomerang and took the return in the chest. Long distance boomerangs are thin and sharp. He got pierced by it. I didn’t like the idea if being impaled.

Well, there is good news and bad news. The bad news is the wind was barely a whisper. That’s the good news too. Most Long distance boomerangs need a good breeze to return well. Dead calm is terrible. However it did mean I wasn’t getting hit by anything. I got pretty decent flights from the small versions but my arm isn’t up to throwing the full size ones. I guess with a few test throws Sunday and these today, I still haven’t made 25 throws all year. I need to get more throwing in before really trying full size LDs.

 So there is the update from BoomerangDave.

By boomerangdave

6 comments on “Let’s make sawdust!

  1. It’s great to see you carving away at that G-10 material, Dave…I know how hard that stuff is to work with. I’m also glad that, even though you’re outside, you’re not going at it without a respirator. I hope that Gas Grill behind you is never hot when you’re putting up all that dust though….the combination of microscopic G-10 dust and a propane grill would make for a really beautiful explosion!:-)
    Safety First!

    Bill

    • Thanks for your concern Bill. Actually the photo was staged. I usually do the sanding in an area much further from the grill. Don’t want the dust getting on the griil at all. G10 isn’t very tasty. I really wanted to show that I was making boomerangs and wearing short & t-shirt in March, usually unheard of around here. I moved the sander setup just for the photo.

  2. I KNEW you had good common sense, Dave! I can’t even fathom working on that many G-10 blanks though….That’s a bugger of a material, and super-expensive around here. My nearest, cheapest source has it at about $25 per square foot in 1/8 inch thickness. That’s about 5 times what I pay for phenolic….And phenolic can be cut without a carbide blade too. What are you using to cut your G-10, if I might ask? I’m assuming a really heavy duty table saw?

    • Grizzly 14 inch band saw with a special carbide grit blade. I think the blade cost me about $110. Not sure if it’s 1/4 or 3/8 inch. I tried a regular blade once and broke it before getting a few inches cut. The blade has probably cut over 100 blanks now so it has paid for itself and doesn’t show signs of wearing out. Gary B sometimes leaves his on the saw for everything but I have finished cutting G10 for this year and it’s off the saw. Plywood cuts better with a toothed blade. OhBTW G10 is the way to go for long distance, unless you use carbon fiber. Unfortunately carbon fiber makes G10 look cheap.

Leave a Reply

