NALDO 2010 (part 3)

Sunday morning, 6:15AM, I fall out of bed. Not really but I probably should have. I waddle my way to the bathroom as my legs do not want to function. After showering, shaving etc, I pack up all my stuff and grab some breakfast at the hotel. At 8AM Rob and I load the car and proceed to the field for the planned 9AM start. There’s a fat chance of that ever happening.

 The wind has changed a lot since Saturday and we had to reposition the line for throwing. Finally around 10:15 we begin practice throws for day two. I gave Logan Kalfa a new Voyager of his own to use. His dad, Chris, used one of my build Voyagers to break the 100 meter mark Saturday and I was pleased to see the performance he got from it. Because he broke 100 meters, he got to wear the magic amulet (a plasticized Twinkie) until the next person broke 100 meters.

Photo: Chris and Logan with their Voyagers and the “Twinkie”.

Winds were tricky and there was more difficulty getting qualified throws. I was in the second group and spotted for the first group. I was really feeling out of it and had thought about bagging my last set of throws. I didn’t feel up to throwing. For Sunday’s session we were only doing 3 warm ups and 5 live throws. When I went to warm up I decided to go back to the Voyager from the previous day, only removing the extra weight I added. I figured that the warm up throws would tell me if I should proceed or not. Rob Stewart approached me with a plywood Voyager he received from Bruce Bernstein.  I really admire Bruce’s work so when Rob asked if I wanted to try it, I jumped at the chance. My first warm up flew quite nice and I decided to try it again. After two good but not great flights Bruce mentioned that he would love to see someone qualify with one of his plywood Voyagers. That sounded like a good challenge for me and one that might be a lot of fun. I didn’t feel I could throw well enough with my LD rangs to break my personal best so why not go out in style.

 

 Photo: Logan K getting his award for first place in the novice division.

Warm ups were done and time for live throws. My first one was a bit left but had a full return. My second throw was on the money and was measured at 55 meters. I had qualified with his plywood rang. No one else was tossing wood boomerangs since they are typically larger and heavier than the composite ones. Throw number three was fantastic. I was really pumped when it cruised in over our heads and over the line. As I retrieved the boomerang I heard them announce a distance of 67 meters. I am not sure I have ever thrown a plywood boomerang that far before. What the heck, it was only 8 meters short of my best throw of the weekend and that was with G10 fiberglass. Throw number four was even farther but low and didn’t return all the way. I got one more throw to qualify but it was high and didn’t beat the earlier throws. I couldn’t believe it. I had 3 of 5 throws on Sunday qualify and only 2 of 16 on Saturday. Maybe I should consider throwing plywood Voyagers all the time?

 I went back out in the field as a spotter for the final two groups of throwers. No one in the final groups got a throw near the distance of Logan the previous day so we wound things down. After cleaning some stuff up and putting all the goals back where they belonged, we headed inside for the awards ceremony. While David and Rob crunched the numbers, Logan, Cameron and Gary amused us by throwing short range boomerangs inside the sports facility. Finally the Awards were presented. I can’t remember the distances but I think Logan K was first in novice, Fred was first in Veterans (over 50), and Logan B was overall champ. Steve, Tom W and Bruce got awards too but I can’t remember which divisions they were for.

Photo: Logan B getting his award for first place overall.

At 2:45PM Rob and I got in the car and headed east and home. We got home around 9:30PM after driving straight through. Thus ends my tale of the 2010 North American Long Distance Open held in Canton Ohio.

By boomerangdave

Leave a Reply

