time to throw!

I finally got out to throw boomerangs again. It’s a beautiful fall day with the sin shining and the temperature holding around 50 degrees. I received a bunch of boomerangs from Miguel Tissieres in Argentina. Miguel makes very fine boomerangs from South American plywoods. In this groups I received the Argus, Eclipse, Equinoccio, and Tango Twist all from guatambú plywood, the Classic a traditional two-blade, built in cedar plywood and a Big Al Hook in 4.4 mm kiri plywood. Almost everything flew great. I did have trouble with the Eclipse, which I then noticed the dingle arm was warped down.. I tried to field tune it to no avail so I will take it home and heat tune it. The real winner of the group was the Big Al Hook. It had excellent range, 40-45 meters and came sailing in for a bull’s eye on the very first throw. I actually blew the catch. It was coming in “the back door” and I turned and stepped back to catch it only to have it pop over me and land where I threw it.

 

Another boomerang I tested is a new shape from Leonilson Junior in Brazil. He sent me some plas to cut out polycarb blanks for him. Well one shape which he modified from a Kirra, was particularly nice so I cut and shaped an extra for me. I was really liking this new boomerang, throwing it over an over again. Maybe Leo will allow me to make some for sale here. It’s a great 40 meter boomerang that probably could be weighted for more distance. Great idea Leo!

 

I also tried 2 Dollar Store boomerangs. These are called BeeBacks and come in traditional and triblade shapes with whistles built in. If you see these in a store, do not pass go, turn around and run away as fast as possible. These are crap!  The instructions molded into the underside show proper boomerang throwing instructions. That would be great if these indeed were boomerangs. I threw the triblade and it whistled nicely. However the boomerang went out about thirty feet and flipped upside down before crashing. I tried the traditional with the same results. Then I tried throwing it with 90 degrees layover from vertical, or as horizontal as possible. I have never seen a boomerang do a barrel roll before.

 I needed something to make me feel better so reached in my bag for a Rusty Harding Carthage. One toss and it came back right into my hands. Time to leave the field and go back to work.

 BoomerangDave

By boomerangdave

Leave a Reply

